Ways You Can Pray

As I lay down to rest, or at least try to, I am comforted by the fact that I have been and continue to be the subject of so many of your prayers. Because I believe that prayer works, and it helps to be specific, I would like to ask that you pray for the things on this list. Thank you all for your unending support and unselfish love!

  • Pray for favorable results on the last-minute cross-matching tests that Lauren and I will be taking tomorrow morning.  Pray for no surprises – that all will go according to plan and the results will be just as expected.
  • Pray that the surgery will actually happen.  Pray for my donor Lauren’s nerves, that she would have peace and comfort.  Pray that God would bless her abundantly for this amazing and precious gift that she is giving to a stranger.  Pray for her family and friends as they support her through her healing.  Pray that her healing and recovery would be quick and better than expected.
  • Pray for the surgeons, the nurses, the anesthesiologists, and all the medical staff before, during and after the surgery.  Pray that their minds would be clear, that they would make the right choices.  Pray that God’s presence in the operating room would be so evident that they would know that something special is going on.
  • Pray that the new kidney would start working immediately, right there on the operating table.  If this happens, the surgeons will be able to remove my dialysis catheter in the same surgery, and that would make me very happy.  Pray that the kidney won’t be “sleepy.”
  • Pray for my total healing and recovery.  Due to various health issues, I’ve been taking mild doses of narcotics for over a year.  This may make it difficult to manage my pain post-operatively.  Please pray that my pain would be insignificant and fleeting.
  • Pray that all my other issues would be improved if not absolved with the introduction of the new kidney.  These issues include restless leg syndrome and neuropathy.

Thanks to everyone for your prayers.  This is just a jumping-off point.  Of course allow the Holy Spirit to lead you as you pray; I’m sure there are things that I have missed.  Feel free to pass this on to other that will join us in prayer.

Just so everyone knows, I will be at Emory Hospital in downtown Atlanta.  I’ll be there for 3-5 days.  I’ll try to keep everyone updated through Facebook.  If you are not a Facebook user, and you would like to receive texts, please let me know.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ways You Can Pray

  1. Alli says:

    You’ve got it! Praying specifically and thinking of you. (((HUG)))

  2. Jennie Davis says:

    Hey Becky! I’m praying for you!

Leave a Reply

