Calling All Artists and Crafters!

As most, if not all, of you know, I’ve been focusing on fundraising for my kidney transplant and anti-rejection meds.  My goal is $25,000, and I’m incredibly pleased and grateful to announce that I’m almost there.  In order to avoid tax issues, I’ve been working with a company, NFT, designed to manage money for transplant recipients.  The tricky thing is that they take their fee – nothing costs nothing.  They take 3%.  So even after I reach my goal, I’ll still have to keep up the fundraising until I get my transplant because the total will be going down.  The amazing thing is that most of the money I’ve raised so far has come solely from individual donations and yard sales.   NFT encourages its clients to have fundraising events, and I did have one Bingo/Raffle Night that was very successful.  I’ve also done well selling donated items on ebay.

For a few years now my mom has been taking a painting class.  The whole class decided to devote a day to painting small works so that I could sell them.  They came up with some really nice stuff, and I wanted to do right by them.  I knew that I wouldn’t get what they’re worth at a yard sale, and it’s hard to sell original art on ebay.  So I’ve decided that I want to have a Silent Art Auction.  It’s going to be a classy affair – formal invitations, party dresses, hors d’oeuvres and lots of ART to bid on!  So I need your help.  I need to beef up the selection, and any art will do.  Meaning not just wall art.  It can be sculptures, sewing crafts, woodworking, anything you think people will want to display in their homes.  We’re aiming for August, depending on how quickly the items come in.  Please, please, please pass this on to anyone you think would like to donate.  If you are interested or have questions, send me a private message.  Even if you aren’t sure, please let me know if you are even considering donating something.  I need to get an idea of what kind of items I have in order to plan the location.  I really hope this works because I’m kind of excited about it.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calling All Artists and Crafters!

  1. claire says:

    That sounds really cool! I wish I made anything material like that for folks, but I will repost and ask my friends about it!

  2. I hope there is a way for us to make long-distance bids in this silent auction! Sounds amazing.

  3. Alan Hooper says:

    Becky, you can count me in to donate two large canvas works. I’ll do my best have them done by July.

Leave a Reply

