Free Truck

Is anybody still out there?  I said…..IS ANYBODY OUT THERE?!  Okay, now that we’re all awake again, I’m here to say (type) that I think I’m back.  Every once in a while I would think of something to post, but I just wouldn’t take the time.  Lately I’ve been feeling creative, and I think the old blog is going to be revamped soon.  However, I wanted to go ahead and get this story in here since it’s so good.  Here we go!

Let’s just skip to the punchline, shall we?

0920091134

Yes, this is my truck.  And now I will tell you how it happened.

Little did I know when I wrote my post about starting over that I was not all the way at zero yet.  Oh, no.  In April, my car died on the way to Charleston, and I was forced to move back in with my parents so I could use their vehicles to get to work.  Yeah, I was 33 years old and living with my parents.  Not cool.  I immediately began praying for a miracle.  I knew that if God wanted me to have a vehicle, He would provide.

One day I was talking to my friend Ariana on the phone, and I was whining and complaining expressing my frustrations.  I saw cars parked in people’s garages, parked in the lot at my storage facility, cars everywhere.  People just have extra cars.  Why can’t I just use one for a while?

Well, apparently, she heard me.  And so did God.  At the end of June, Ariana left me a message.  She said some friends of hers happened to mention to her that they had a truck that they wanted to give away.  She told them she knew someone that might want it.  That someone was me.  And I did.  With a little bit of arranging, we made the plans and I flew to Charleston to get my free truck.

This is where the story gets funny.

You see, the only time for me to pick up the truck was after the owner got home from work on a Tuesday.  I had to be at work at 4:30am on Wednesday.  It’s completely doable, I thought.  As soon as I get the truck, I’ll drive straight back to Georgia, get some sleep, and go to work.  No problem.  My friend Marci drove me to the owner’s house, but we beat him there.  I saw the truck parked out front, so of course I looked in the window to take a peek.

0920091201

Uh, oh.  Trouble in paradise.  This is a stick shift.  I did not know how to drive this free vehicle.  Oh, how God lauged at me at that moment.  This is why we must be specific in our prayers.

Thankfully, Marci knew how to drive it.  I drove her car back to her side of town, and she started teaching me how to drive the truck.  Two hours of bucking, stalling, stressing, swearing, laughing and crying later, I was a frazzled mess.  I decided that I would have to skip work the next day and just leave in the morning.

Through this process, I couldn’t help but notice the lessons.  I feel like God is literally taking me back to a time when I was very close to Him.  I am starting over, and God is restoring the lost years just as He promised.

Now I’m almost good at driving my new truck.  I’m so thankful that Ariana and Marci are my friends.  I’m very thankful that God provided a vehicle so that I would have some freedom.  And nothing makes you feel young again like learning how to drive.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Free Truck

  1. Tena says:

    baaaahaaaaa….I knew the story but seeing in print makes it even better! That is the Becky we know and love…we’ve missed her!
    Love ya girl!!!

  2. Janice says:

    Sweeet! Providence!

  3. Becky says:

    I am glad you got a vehicle and were able to get some freedom. But mostly I am glad you are getting closer to God. Miss you here in the old corner!

  4. Z. says:

    I’m so glad to see that things are starting to turn around a bit. Much love to you.

  5. Marci says:

    I’m glad I could help. I have never even attempted to show anyone how to drive before. Sorry about that. I think you did great. I’m glad that you are my friend too. :0)

  6. Jennifer says:

    Funny story. God provides for us in ways that we do not expect.
    I remember being one of the few (of my friends) with a car at CSU. One time we went to get gas and Marci had never pumped gas before!!! You’ve come a long way, my friend.
    That’s cool that you’re still close to Marci and Ariana. I’m assuming the Alaskan Ariana because that’s the only one I know.

Leave a Reply

