If you’re looking for something happy…

…you’ve come to the wrong dang blog.  Apparently things can always get worse.

I had a very productive Monday and Tuesday planned.  I had to go to Charleston to complete the last few elements of the vast amount of rigmarole it takes to work on a cruise ship.  In addition to this, I had planned a trip to the doctor and the pharmacy since my incredibly expensive health insurance is only good in South Carolina.  Leave work Monday morning, drive to Charleston, see the doctor, have dinner with friends, sleep, apply for a TWIC card, apply for Merchant Mariner’s Document, stop by the pharmacy, drive back to Atlanta.  Piece of cake.

That is if my car didn’t blow up.  And if I didn’t miss my doctor’s appointment because of it.  And if the Coast Guard had been clear about exactly what paperwork I would need to bring with me.  And if my refills at the pharmacy hadn’t expired.

So bad things happen sometimes.  Trust me, if anyone knows this, it’s me.  However, at this point, I have bypassed disappointment and worry and sadness.  Now I’m scared.  Through all the crazy things I’ve been through – all my moves, all my jobs – I’ve always had a car and health insurance.  The fact that I can’t think of a single way that I will be able to get either one of these things is very scary to me.  I feel like nothing is safe.  What am I going to lose next?

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to If you’re looking for something happy…

  1. Marie says:

    Girl,
    Everyone I talk to is going through A WHOLE lot… must be in the air. All I can say is keep your focus on God and the rest will become blury. God created Eagles to sit in the middle of strong storms, with high winds… which gives them strength to fly higher and faster above the storm. God does not close one door without opening another… just keep it focused! Praying for your storms to calm!!!!
    Marie

  2. chrissy says:

    Oh, no! I am just so sorry, for the car, for the trip, for the healthcare issues. I wish I could change it for you. This just sucks, all of it. It makes me mad.

    I’m still praying for you, lots. For some reason now I want to pray that God would provide you with a scooter. Just because I think you need some fun, but maybe one with a tiny air conditioner, for summer.

  3. Jenny says:

    Becky Ray-Apply for Medicaid…it may take you all day but it will take care of all your medical bills for the past three months and until you leave…You probably will qualify…as for the car..I’m gonna pray for that and all the other stuff you need..I’m sorry that I did not get Rae’s call in time to help you.. Love you bunches…Jenny xoxox! He’s got the whole world in His hands, Becky!

  4. Vanessa says:

    Becky, I am so sorry to hear about all of this going on in your life right now. I wish I had some extraordinary words to say that would make it all better. I have your name written on a post-it right by my computer and will be praying for you.

  5. I’m sorry, Becky. I’m just sorry. I agree…apply for medicaid. It’s what you paid taxes for. There was a time in our life when we needed it, and I was so thankful it was there. Just think what an awesome testimony you are going to have one day. Still praying.

  6. Tena says:

    nothing really to say…we love you and are praying for you.

Leave a Reply

