Miracle Sunday

This past Sunday was Miracle Sunday at our church.  We were challenged to pray about and prepare to give a miracle offering over and above our regular tithe.  We were also challenged to come forward and take a stand to make changes in our lives whether it be about money or healing or whatever.  I’ve been feeling convicted about how I spend my money for a while now, even before I heard the message that delivered this challenge.  When Cal talked to us about giving a miracle offering, I looked at my checkbook.  For the last few months, for no particular reason that I can see, all the bills have been paid late, and I have used the dreaded credit cards when the balance got too low.  How would I have anything to give?  All I could think to do was cut up my credit cards and give those.  I felt so guilty.  God deserves an amazing gift, and I’m going to give him my credit card debt?  I prayed for an answer and felt very confused.  Should I write a check for money I know I don’t have so that God provide the miracle?  How can I expect a miracle if I never take a risk?  In 2 Kings 4, the widow had to collect the jars first before the oil started flowing.  But then again, it didn’t really feel right to give a rubber check to God.  On Sunday morning, I still wasn’t sure.  I decided that I would give the credit cards, but I didn’t know if that was enough.  I ripped open my checkbook and quickly scribbled out a check for $50.  As I stood in the line leading to the front, I was so ashamed of my offering.  An envelope full of cut up plastic and $50 courtesy of overdraft protection.  As I prayed I felt God lifting my own disappointment off of me.  I didn’t even know the weight of all that debt until I felt the freedom of giving it all to God.  Now I just pray that the miracle of becoming debt-free will come quickly.  I’ve tried on my own many times, but it always feels too insurmountable and I give up.  This time I’m praying for a miracle.

If you would like to share the miracle you are praying for, please do.  Maybe God’s already done it, and that would be great to hear about, too.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Miracle Sunday

  1. I too was praying to be debt free. There is absolutely no reason why we should be struggling. We make to much money to not have money. I do not understand. But nevertheless we are faced with the fact that we are in debt and have no money. I have long ago decided because of rubber checks to put cash in my envelope. I am not afraid to say I struggle with tithing. I have never been able to do this by my self or with just me and Kevin……..so this time I too am trusting a miracle to help us in our finances.

  2. Wendy says:

    Becky, have you ever heard of Dave Ramsey? He is a Christian financial adviser and since following his steps, all John and I have is a mortgage payment. It can be done! Dave always quotes the Proverbs verse “The borrower is slave to the lender.”

    I can’t think of a miracle that I’ve been praying for…will have to think about it.

  3. Vanessa says:

    I loved reading this – it takes courage to take that first step to become debt free and God will honor your courage, faithfulness, honesty and willingness to work this out. Dave Ramsey is GREAT!

  4. ” IF YOU DON’T TAKE A LEAP OF FAITH…AND DO
    SOMETHING, YOU’VE NEVER DONE;…. YOU WILL
    NEVER RECEIVE ANYTHING..YOU’VE NEVER HAD!”

  5. Melissa says:

    Becky, the only way to a miracle from God is to trust Him for it! I know and have shared how we decided to give what we thought we didn’t have and God doubled it back to us before we even gave! You have taken the first step. You just continue to praise God and trust Him to see you through. I will keep you in my prayers, because the next step is discipline in changes, Whew! That can be challenging, but there is nothing we cannot do with the power of God at our disposal!

    Blessings, Melissa

  6. Nicole Blakely says:

    Becky, I really enjoy reading your blogs and I have never commented on anything…until now…I am so proud of your decision to take a stand towards becoming debt free! I think that by cutting up your plastic you did the exact thing that God wanted you to do! Set up a budget for yourself and you’ll get where you want to be before you know it! Trust HIM and you just can’t fail!! Thanks for your blogs….you are so hilarious!

Leave a Reply

