Some thoughts on autumn

  • It’s kind of weird that we have two names for this season – fall and autumn
  • I like pumpkin bread/muffins
  • I wore my first new sweater of the season today
  • It’s funny that lots of people feel very strongly about fall.  They really love it.  I think it’s funny because it’s not like we get a choice.
  • I am indifferent towards fall.  I like the leaves, I like bonfires and hayrides and fall activities, but I know that winter comes after fall and I don’t like winter.  (That is a run-on sentence.)
  • Seeing the fall colors was one of the few things I liked about living in Connecticut.  If you like the leaves here, you should really go to New England in September.
  • Now I can turn on the space heater in my office without ridicule.
  • It’s a good thing that I don’t scare too easily because the large oak tree in the yard drops acorns all over the house.  I could really psych myself out and start to wonder if someone is throwing things at my house or if someone is trying to break in.  But it’s just acorns.
  • I made a fall wreath last year out of fall-colored fabric, rafia and fake berries.  It’s a very easy craft, very cheap and good to do with kids.  I can show you how if you want to know.  You could make it for any season.
  • I am 3/4 of the way through my Pumpkin candle.  Up next: Mulled Cider.  Up next after that: Maple Pecan.  However I have already started burning my Christmas Wreath candle at work.  I’m mixing it up a bit.

That’s enough.  Anything you would like to share?

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Some thoughts on autumn

  1. Janice says:

    Great list. Your thoughts remind me of the Becky I knew in high school. Clearly you’re all grown up now. But you are Becky, still.

    So how many sweaters do you have?

    I like fall and spring, but not extreme cold or hot (so, not winter or summer).

    I have this wreath I put on my door every October that I’ve had for about 6 years. It still doesn’t look old to me, but I haven’t really directly asked anyone else’s opinion on it. I might need you to post a video on how to make this easy-craft wreath you speak of.

    If I sat anywhere for any length of time I might burn an autumn-scented candle. As things go right now, it would be mostly left unattended. Maybe if I get one and burn it I’ll stay put.

    Try this: mix a can o’ pumpkin pie filling, vanilla pudding mix, and cool whip. Dip with ginger snaps. Best served in a ceramic pumpkin dish.

  2. chaotic joy says:

    I loved this list. I have mixed feelings about fall too. I love the weather, the leaves, the stuff everyone loves. But I hate the holidays. Passionately hate them, and so I walk around during fall with a sense of impending doom.

    Post the wreath directions. I’ll never make it, of course. I’ll plan on making it, buy the supplies and leave them laying around the house until I get disgusted and then throw them in a closet.

    That’s just the way I roll.

  3. Amy says:

    I really like the warm sun and crisp cool air combination.

    Sounds really simple, but that’s what I like about this time of year.

  4. I love the colors of fall. really makes me think about God and how awesome He is.

    Post the wreath directions. I actually made one for Christmas and Easter might make another I love crafty things!!

  5. I like 3 specific things about fall.

    1. Comfort foods (ie soup, tea, hot chocolate, pancakes, chicken and dumplings, biscuits with gravy, anything pumpkin or maple) always taste better and give bigger cravings in the fall.

    2. I like wearing jeans and sleeves without sweating.

    3. Any decoration with fall leaves on it. i just feel very warm and cozy and they are always beautiful!!!!

  6. Wendy says:

    I guess I love all the seasons, but I do feel strongly about fall (as you put it). I love the colors and the smells in the air. (And I agree with Rachel – I made chicken and dumplings for supper last night…mmmm.)

    I once lived in a house with a tin roof and it had two pecan trees next to it. Fun times.

  7. Nicole Blakely says:

    I enjoy the Fall season but like you, I dread the freezing cold sunshine-less winter months! I love Spring and Summer….I especially enjoy the very beginning of Spring when you first start feeling that “Spring Fever” feeling. I am always emabarrassed to go from the comfort of long pants and jeans to showing off my ultra pale legs in shorts and skirts!
    Funny you mentioned your space heater……I utilize the space heater under my desk at work year ’round…I turn the thermostat up and down on it all day long! I’ve even accidentally left it plugged up a few times! Oops!

Leave a Reply

