Don’t think less of me

I have something to say that may cause a lot of people to wonder about me.  I hope I don’t lose any friends over this.  Some of you will probably wonder if you can ever take me seriously again.  You probably won’t want my opinion about important issues either.  Then you will probably start to feel sorry for me.  You will think, “I don’t know how I would live if that was me.”  But don’t think this way.  It’s completely normal for me.  In fact, I kind of feel that way about you.  The truth is. . .

I don’t like football.

Believe me, I’ve tried.  In high school I went to just about every game during my senior year as a last ditch effort to learn the rules.  At CSU it was impossible to learn the ins and outs of the game because our football team never won.  I would come to the games to socialize and support my cheerleader roommates.  UConn is definitely more of a basketball school than a football school, and I wouldn’t have had the time anyway.

Every year when fall rolls around, everyone else is charged with anticipation and excitement.  I am filled with dread.  I know that I will have to suffer through countless conversations about games, plays, players, coaches and more.  I won’t understand any of it, and no one will want to do anything else.  I will just have to wait patiently for the season to end.  In the mean time, if anyone wants to do something besides talk about football, give me a call.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Don’t think less of me

  1. chrissy says:

    Ha! I remember those losing CSU games well. I feel the same way about football, only I’m exceptionally abnormal because I live in Texas.

    I have to confess I was expecting a much juicier confession after that first paragraph.

  2. Wendy says:

    I’m kind of ambivalent about football… My college didn’t even HAVE a football team. I can think of better ways to spend my weekends than watching a game.

  3. Dita says:

    That is the very reason why I celebrate the Superbowl. In fact, I’m always willing to host Superbowl parties with lots of food and friends. It makes me happy to see the season come to an end and my Sunday afternoons to be much quieter without my husband blaring the TV during my very important nap.

  4. Tim says:

    I love Carolina Gamecock football and I’m disappointed that you don’t, but you’re still our favorite Kid’s Pastor in the world.

  5. chaotic joy says:

    Hear! Hear! I have been married to football for twelve years. And I still don’t like it. Not one little bit. I mostly don’t mind being a football widow though, I like doing my own thing but trying to pretend I care about the plays he feels the need to describe for me…that’s tough.

    See, I love ya all the more.

  6. Chastity Allen says:

    Can’t stand it either…..completely do not get it. Glad I am not alone in that!

  7. michele says:

    basketball. now that’s what i’m talking about! although i tend to gravitate more to high school teams. and it helps to enjoy when you actually know the players. first game for st. john’s is 11/20.

    i do like football movies.

  8. ~Ashley~ says:

    OK, so I will call you. . . *grin*

  9. Vanessa says:

    I don’t get football either – I just don’t understand it at all! However, I don’t mind the socializing and the food. 🙂

  10. i know, right? ….let’s go to a dumpster instead!

Leave a Reply

