Hello, old friend

So for the first time this season, I stayed home sick yesterday.  I thought that I had done my time.  I was constantly sick for the first eight months of working in children’s ministry.  I chalked it up to that teacher thing – you just stay sick for the first year, but then the immunities are built up and you don’t get sick anymore.  I guess I’m just not there yet, or that theory is bogus.  Either way, I stayed on my couch all day yesterday, sleeping off and on, and I feel a lot better today.  I tried four times to watch Speed Racer, and I still didn’t make it all the way through without nodding off.  Maybe it was a bad movie, or maybe I was just really tired – take it however you wish.

It’s kind of strange to think about, but sometimes I feel a little nostalgic about being sick.  When you’re little and you stay home from school, it’s kind of fun.  Your mom or your grandma takes care of you.  You eat something special for lunch instead of school lunch or bagged lunch.  You watch The Price is Right.  You take the pillow and blanket from your bed and your stuffed animal to the couch, and you stay in your pajamas all day.  You get a day off from homework and chores.

On second thought, maybe I’m still sick.  (Wink, wink.)

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hello, old friend

  1. Amy says:

    Hey…did you ever see the “Price Is Right” episode with the large lady in the tube top? It was the one that her top came TOTALLY down when she got up to run to the front as her name was called…yeh, watch that one with your grandma…that made some VERY interesting conversation!!!-as well as added to my sickness.

  2. chrissy says:

    Are you still good at all the Price is Right games? I don’t think I’ve watched it since Drew whats-his-name took over.

  3. Angie says:

    Yeah, now that you mention it, I think I am coming down with something. Maybe I will have to stay home tomorrow. Oh, never mind, tomorrow is Friday, I don’t want to miss Friday night at Wholly Ground. I hope you don’t miss it either, you are a part of it now!!! We wouldn’t know what to do without you.

  4. Wendy says:

    Hey, I thought of you when I saw this….maybe it’ll make you feel better. http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/2008/09/sunday-sweets-to-make-henson-proud.html

    (I hope the link works…)

  5. Wendy says:

    Well, I can’t find your email address….so anyway, your guess was very, very close. Thanks for playing! (I think I chose movies that were too old for most people to think about.) Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

