Things that go “pop” in the night

The tens of you that read this blog already know this, I’m sure. I’m not good at the inspirational, life-lesson type stuff. I like to share stories of really mundane things that happen to me. I try to put a fascinating spin on them so they are way more entertaining. It’s fun for me.

Last night I could not fall asleep until about 1am. (olympics) At 4am I woke up to something that sounded like a slow drip hitting my pillow. I turned the light on to check things out. I heard the sound again. There was nothing on my ceiling. Thirty seconds later I heard it again, still hitting the pillow. There is an electrical outlet behind my bed, so I got close to it to see if that was the source. I heard the pop again, but I didn’t see anything. I moved the pillow out of the way so I could get closer and waited. The next pop did not come from the same place. The pop was coming from my pillow!

I quickly threw the pillow onto the floor. I just knew there was a bug in there. You see, the deal with me and bugs is this. I DO NOT LIKE THEM. I started running scenarios in my head. If I removed the pillow and found a roach in my pillowcase, I would completely freak out from the thought of a roach crawling near my head while I was asleep. I would have to go to the emergency room, then come home and burn my sheets, my pillows, and possibly my hair. Then I would probably have to go to the emergency room again. I was tempted to just leave the pillow on the floor and go back to sleep hoping that the popping thing would go away.

Then I started thinking about the fact that if I left it there, the thing would still be alive. For a long time, I just watched the pillow for any sign of movement. I needed to get the specs on this creature. I still heard the popping, but I saw nothing. I grabbed my trusty can of Raid. There was only one thing left to do.

I grabbed the closed end of the pillowcase and started shaking. I like really thick, really firm pillows, so it took about ten minutes for the pillow to shimmy its way out of there. As soon as it flopped out, I dropped everything, ready to spray. I saw nothing. I bravely reached down and flung the pillowcase and pillow away from the scene.

I was very pleased to discover that the source of the popping was not a roach. It was one of those little beetle-type things. The kind that you grab with a tissue and crunch, but then they are still alive. My dad always called them “popping bugs.” Now I know why.

I hope “popping bugs” like Raid.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things that go “pop” in the night

  1. Stacie says:

    We have had those around our house lately. I can see how it would be unnerving to wake up with that in your pillow! My cat, however, loves them. But never kills them. I always have to do that part. Useless cat.

  2. chrissy says:

    Ewww. I don’t know if I could go back to sleep after that. We don’t have those bugs, but we do have baby lizards that like to hide in piles of laundry and go running across your feet when you pick the clothes up. We also have plastic toy lizards that look identical to the real ones, so that freaks me out, too.

  3. Allison says:

    Hey girl! Thanks for saying hello on the blog. So great to hear from you! Your blog looks terrific!

  4. Wendy says:

    There was a small thumping noise coming from my sink (underneath my clean dishes on the drainboard) today. I lifted up a pitcher and lo and behold, a very large Japanese beetle was trying to escape. I am really glad it was not in my pillowcase.

  5. dmac294 says:

    You know I’ve heard that if you see one of those there are always 1000 more nearby. G’night 🙂

  6. Chastity Allen says:

    Glad it did not crawl into your ear…gross!

Leave a Reply

