The Chronicles of Narnia

If you’ve been paying attention, you will know that I have been working my way through The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis. I finally read the last chapter while floating in the Kinard pool on Saturday. I used to keep a book journal where I would write a response to every book I read. I never intended for anyone but me to read it, so when I try to write a book review post, it’s a little bit difficult. You know what, I’m just going to write it just like I would in my book journal. Maybe it will give you some insight as to why I’m just a little bit off.

I like these books. They’re like yoga for the imagination. They are very descriptive, but the settings and actions are so unusual. It’s easy to imagine things that are totally not of our world. And of course I love the many comparisons that can be made between Jesus and Aslan. I think what really stuck out to me this time was that we aren’t always going to understand why God does things the way that He does them. There were so many times when the characters questioned Aslan’s decisions, but they never doubted that he knew what was best. They kept saying, “Well, he’s not a tame lion.” I think this is important to remember that God is not some sweet, nice, marshmallowy, wishy-washy god that only does nice things. He has to do things that seem mean at the moment in order to accomplish the greater good, or to make us stronger. This was the second time I read through this series, but it was the first time I read them in the order of the story, rather than the order in which they were published. It definitely made a lot more sense to me to read them in the order of the story. I should definitely read these books again.

The good thing is that I can’t remember books or movies. (See this post.) So in a few years, I’ll be able to enjoy the re-release of The Chronicles of Narnia.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Chronicles of Narnia

  1. Chastity says:

    I LOVE these books….loved them in high school…loved them after school….love the movies…and love love LOVE that other people love them as well….I love the fact that you can watch the movies with your children and have an oppurtunity to talk to them about God…in everyday movies their are not a lot of oppurtunities to talk to the children about God.

    I recently had a serious conversation with Joe (he is 5) about why God does things that seem mean. My mother passed away almost 6 years ago…and her birthday was just the other day and it makes me extremely sad to think about all the things that she has not seen in those 6 years. So, anyways, once again overcome with grief about this…I started to cry and had to explain to Joe that I was sad that Nanny Jo was in Heaven because I missed her….he wanted to know why God had taken her from me.

    After much intense conversation….he told me that sometimes God was mean….and I had to explain to him that sometimes God has to be mean. If He was nice all the time, He would not get the chance to make an example of people and NO ONE would take Him serious. Joe seemed satisfied with this explanation (after all he is only 5)…..glad to see I am not the only one who GETS this….

Leave a Reply

