Passion for Fashion

Lately I’ve noticed a change in myself. For years I had absolutely no interest in shopping for clothes or jewelry. For many reasons I just hated it. Now it’s like a switch has been flipped. I shop all the time. I dig through clearance racks and bins everywhere I go. I’ll leave work and head straight to Summerville or North Charleston in the middle of the week. It’s a little scary.

Wednesday I left work and decided to go for a drive and hit a few stores. I ended up at the Wal-Mart in Goose Creek. It is superior to the Wal-Mart in Moncks Corner. My mission was to find a cute/frilly short-sleeve shirt to wear under tank tops/camis so that summer weekend clothes could double as work clothes. I found it, I bought a white one, and it was only $8. I also found a cute tank top to add to my tank top collection. I bought a purple one, and it was only $5.

The next day I wore my new ensemble. I decided that I liked this combo very much, and the price was right. I went back to the Wal-Mart in Goose Creek and bought more. I came home with the short-sleeve shirt in black and brown and the tank top in pink, blue and brown. I was so excited. Now I could wear the blue with the black or the brown. I could wear the pink with the brown or the white. I could wear the brown with, well, the brown. The possibilities were endless-ish. I could wear essentially the same outfit every day of the week.

On Friday I pulled out all the new options and proceeded to put on the pink tank top. I was shocked to find that it was a little tight. When I compared it to the original purple one, I realized that I had purchased the wrong size. The stupid thing is that I was wearing the purple one when I was picking out the pink, blue and brown ones. So Friday night I made another trip to the Goose Creek Wal-Mart. I was able to exchange the pink and the blue ones for the right size, but they did not have the brown one. This did not rest easy in my spirit. I knew that my life would not be complete with out that shirt!

I tried the Moncks Corner Wal-Mart – they only had a small. Tuesday afternoon I made a mad dash to the Summerville Wal-Mart. They only had two of these shirts left in any color. I rushed back to Moncks Corner for a jewelry party, then left early to go to the North Charleston Wal-Mart. I didn’t have much hope as I moved from one clearance rack to another. Finally I caught a glimpse of the pink version of the shirt hanging on the end of one of the wall displays. I felt like I was moving in slow motion as I made my way to the rack. I saw the blue one. I saw the purple one. I even saw a red one. Finally I came across a brown one, but it was a small. (Why are there always so many smalls?! It just adds insult to injury.) Then as I came to the end of the rack, I saw one more brown shirt peeking out from behind everything else. My heart raced as my hands moved toward it. I dug it out from the jumble of cami straps and plastic hangers. I looked at the tag and lo and behold – it was my size! I thrust my fist into the air and whispered, “YES!!!”

I was so thrilled. Now I could go on living. My endurance and persistence had paid off. I accomplished my goal.

Although my search was for brown, it felt like I had won the gold.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Passion for Fashion

  1. Angie says:

    FYI: the Walmart in West Ashley has palm trees and is even way more superior to any other I have ever been to. I am so very thankful that you will continue to exist!!!!

  2. Vickie says:

    Thank you. I needed some humor this afternoon!

  3. chaotic joy says:

    This WAS HILARIOUS. Welcome to the world of shopping. I have recently left that world and apparently my exit left a vacuum that you have filled.

  4. I knew a fist pump was coming…..great story!

  5. Chastity says:

    That was hilarious! I am sure all of the clothes will look fantastic on you! Love when you find the hidden jewel amoung the racks….especially the CLEARANCE racks….

  6. Tena says:

    AWESOME!!! You look beautiful everytime I see you…now, knowing you do it with clearance…I am amazed! 🙂

  7. Lisa King says:

    You crack me up!!! I know you posted this days ago, but I am a bit behind on my blog reading. I miss you Becky Ray!!!

Leave a Reply

