A Small Confession

This is something that has been bothering me since August when I moved here.  When I arrived, I wanted to get all my ducks in a row as quickly as possible.  As this is not normal for me, I took advantage of it and went to the DMV to get everything changed over to my new address and my new life.  When I finally had all the paperwork I needed, I stepped up to the counter, and the clerk asked me:

  or   ?

Maybe I was feeling nostalgic.  When I lived in Connecticut or Georgia, I would get excited when I saw a bright green Palmetto tree on someone’s tag because I missed living here.  Maybe I thought they were secretly going to charge me extra if I chose the holier license plate.  Whatever the reason, I said,

“Smiling Faces, Beautiful Places, please.”

As soon as I walked out of the office with my new license plate in hand, I began to panic about my decision.  “Oh, no, what if the people at my church think that I don’t trust in God?  They know I just moved here.  They know I could have picked ‘In God We Trust,’ but I didn’t.  What if they hate me?  What if they ask me why I did it?  What if I lose my job?  It’s too late.  I’ve already chosen.  Now I have to live with it.”

I don’t know if it was a reaction to my regret or mere laziness, but the plate stayed in my backseat for months before I actually put it on my car.

Needless to say, no one has approached me about this issue.  I just wanted to clear the air, and speak to anyone out there that might have been wondering.  I do trust in God, even though my license plate doesn’t say so.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Small Confession

  1. chrissy says:

    You’re so funny. That happened to me when I lived in Virginia and I had to make a split-second decision between the regular one and the “we will never forget” 9/11 one. Of course I chose the regular (out of cheapness), and every time I saw the 9/11 one I regretted it.

    anyway, I doubt you will lose your job. Hopefully.

  2. Melinda says:

    Ok, what part of “Don’t sweat the small stuff” do you not get? God is more concerned with what’s in your heart than on your car. I realize you probably think this would have been a good oppurtunity to get the word out, but passersby will not notice and the people close to you know where your heart is. I wish you could hear my motherly tone scolding you in a loving way!

  3. keeleystephens says:

    Well, I feel kind of gypped! I didn’t even get the option when I got my car. I wonder if the DMV worker assumed that I didn’t trust in God. PUNK!!! This leaves me in a wonder!

  4. Angie says:

    THINK FAST

  5. michele says:

    hey i know where you can get all the pncc stickers/magnets you could ever need… that should make it alright!

  6. michele says:

    (all right). sorry i was coma-toast!!!

  7. Chastity Allen says:

    Just slap one of those bumper stickers on your car that says “Don’t let the car fool you…my treasure is in Heaven”….pretty soon we may have another choice…which may prove to be two choices too many for you! LOL!

  8. Heather martin says:

    I don’t even know what license plate I have. LOL How bad is that?

  9. Vickie Kotzin says:

    PLEASE……………………….???????? You know…..!!!!!!!!!

  10. dmac294 says:

    I’ve suspected your lack of faith for some time. 🙂 Now, we have proof ! How are we Christians suppose to let others know if not with a metal symbol? Hmm, how…how… ??

Leave a Reply

