Neuschwanstein

The second day of my European vacation was spent touring two castles in Bavaria.  Because my skills in geography are about equal to my skills in history, I didn’t even realize that we were going to see the Alps until I looked out the car window and saw this:

Sing with me – the hills are alive with the sound of music! (Ahh, ahhahhh, aahhh.)  Props to Hope’s camera – when I took this picture we were zipping around the curvy road at about 50 mph.

The weather was really beautiful as we toured the two castles, Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau.  The weirdest thing we saw was a platter that was given as a host’s gift.  It was round with a space in the middle where a round loaf of bread was placed as part of the gift.  They had the platter on display in a glass case with the bread still in it!  Several hundred year old bread.  Why?  Just tell me it had bread in it, and I can imagine what it looked like. 

Neuschwantstein is the castle that Walt Disney used for inspiration in the design of Cinderella’s castle.  Here’s some pictures so you can all see how beautiful both the castles were:

    

    

In the last picture you can kind of see some people hang-gliding/para-sailing or whatever.  There were at least 20 people up in the sky. 

This picture was taken from the castle looking down on the countryside:

If that was the view out of my window, I don’t think I would ever leave the house.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Neuschwanstein

  1. spamynetwork says:

    Those are some beautiful pictures. I’m with you on the window scene in the last picture. Absolutely beautiful!

  2. Stacie says:

    So pretty! And I would totally spend large portions of my day staring out the window if that were my view.

  3. Wendy says:

    Gorgeous scenery! Glad you had a great time!

  4. chrissy says:

    It’s hard to imagine that scenery being a part of someone’s normal every day life.

Leave a Reply

