Speaking of a new creation. . .the puppets are done

We finished up the Zooplosion puppets last night!  Here’s what they look like:

sheep.jpg     parrot1.jpg

elephantlionostrich.jpg     anteater1.jpg

The sheep:  This one is the simplest (most simple?).  No moving parts, just a handle on the back. 

The parrot:  I think this one is my favorite so far.  The head moves.

The elephantlionostrich:  It’s big.  The trunk moves.  The elephant’s name is “Little Orphan Elephant” because he doesn’t have pupils in his eyes.  You know, now that I look at it, none of them have pupils.  Hmmm.

The anteater:  The head and the tail move, and theoretically the tongue goes in and out.  I’m not sure if I will actually do that though.  For one, it’s tricky to hold the puppet and do the tongue movement at the same time.  For two, it looks kinda weird, in a bad way.

The trickiest part was gluing the paper front to the styrofoam back.  First I tried spray adhesive, but it was not strong enough.  Plus I could not stand any more complaining about the smell!!!!  You know who you are!  I finally settled on contact cement.  It worked very well, as I knew it would.  I was very entertained by the chemical reaction that took place when the contact cement touched the raw styrofoam.  Or maybe the fumes were affecting my brain.  And by the way I used the contact cement outside so as not to disturb the delicate senses of some people in this office.  You know who you are – Michele!

Thanks to Maddy for helping me glue, and thanks to Tena and Sica for helping me paint!  Big ups!  And not thanks to Michele for whining.  Big downs!

This entry was posted in Puppets. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Speaking of a new creation. . .the puppets are done

  1. michele says:

    i was only complaining because i wasn’t in my right mind. i would say i was (high) from the smell, but this is a church blog- i mean post. i think. anyway, they all turned out great. i’m excited for you.

  2. beckyray says:

    And for those that are thinking, “Oh, man, I wanted to help make the puppets,” don’t worry. These puppets are just for the first week. There’s plenty more to do!

  3. Amy says:

    They look GREAT! I can’t wait to see the kids’ reactions.

  4. Chastity Allen says:

    WOW! I cannot wait to hear what Joe and Katlynn come home sayin’ about these! They look amazing! You guys have done a fantaastic job!

  5. daniel white says:

    Hey what kind of paper did you use, when you painted the animals? I’m about to make these for my 1st-3rd set design!

    white@churchofthehighlands.com

Leave a Reply

