A New Creation

caterpillar.gif

How many times do I go about the everyday tasks of life and wonder, “When am I really going to get there?  When am I going to do whatever it is that I’m really supposed to be doing?”  I am always concerned with the big thing, and many times I feel like I’m never going to get there.  Lately, I’ve had an idea for a puppet skit circling around in my head about caterpillars turning into butterflies.  This fact of nature has often been compared to the transformation that occurs when someone becomes a Christ-follower.  Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come:  The old has gone, the new is here!  2 Cor. 5:17  As I was contemplating this idea the other morning, the story came to me.  When we see a caterpiller, we already know that if all goes well, this little creature will one day be a butterfly.  But at what point does the caterpillar figure it out?  How long is he eating leaves, not knowing why, just wondering if he will ever do anything great?  Does he even know that he’s got to eat those leaves to get to the great thing in the future?  And is that how God sees us?  He knows the great things we will do, and He knows the importance of things we are doing now, even though they seem so mundane to us.  Just some food/leaves for thought.

butterfly-border1.jpg

This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Creation

  1. Amy says:

    Thanks for the reminder!! We should do the skit. I bet we (KP) could pull that off without a hitch. You could be the butterfly. Convinced yet? :~)

Leave a Reply

