Martha, Martha, Martha

As a lot of you know, right now is a very busy time for our church.  The other night I woke up at 2:30am with my mind buzzing with all the things I have to do this month.  I tossed and turned and prayed and cried for about an hour before I gave up trying to sleep and went to the living room to read the Bible.  I didn’t know where to find something that would help me, so I just picked up where I left off the day before.  I ended up reading the story about Mary and Martha.  It was like Jesus was talking to me. . .”Becky, Becky, you are worried and upset about many things, but few things are needed–or indeed only one.”  I realized that I have not been spending nearly enough time sitting at Jesus’ feet, listening to what he says.  Besides, it’s his ministry anyway; I will do what I can, but it’s up to him.  So have a good weekend, and take time for what matters.

On a semi-related note, I’m not sure if I will have a weekend project this time.  We’ll see.

This entry was posted in Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Martha, Martha, Martha

  1. Amy says:

    You sure do have a weekend project – sitting at His feet. You’ll have to updated us on Monday.

  2. I missed reading your blog the past few days. We were with a lot less internet access this week, but I LOVE that you are such a real person at all times. It’s very encouraging to me to see you expose yourself in all of your blogs. It makes it easier for me to be bold and honest in my own life. I really have been waking up like this a lot lately. I do feel that God is calling me to spend more time listening to Him instead of dishing out all my thoughts and overall stuff to Him. Sorry for a second there my comment turned into my own blog!! what a weirdo! i miss you in person…ox (but only one of each so as not to overwhelm you with physical contact)
    -Rachel

Leave a Reply

