Seven Quirks, One Award

I have finally been blogging long enough to become the victim esteemed recipient of one meme and one award.   The meme comes from Chaotic Joy, a long-lost high school friend that has been found again through this wonderful thing called the blogosphere.  The meme’s challenge is to list quirky things about me, and there are many.  Here’s a few:

1.  I cannot remember movies or books.  I consider this to be an advantage.  I can watch the same movies or read the same books over and over again and be totally entertained every time.  There are two instances where this quirk can be a little frustrating: one is when I watch a movie for the second time only to remember at the very end that I didn’t really like it the first time, thus wasting my time.The other is when someone wants to discuss a book or movie that they know I have seen or read and I can’t remember a thing about it.  If someone asks me about a movie or book that I have seen or read, but I can’t remember it, I just say I saw part of it or I started reading it and didn’t finish it.  Then I’m not required to know anything about it.  You’re probably wondering why I have a book review category on my blog if I have this affliction.  It helps me to remember if I write a response immediately, so you can trust the reviews, I promise!

2.  I really hate onions.  I’m not too keen on vegetables in general, but onions are the worst.  I don’t mind the flavor, but the texture is unbearable.  That slimy-crunchiness.  If I accidentally bite down on one, everything in my mouth will either come out or be swallowed whole.  All throughout my childhood I would have a tiny pile of onions on my plate at the end of every meal due to my mom’s insistence on putting them in every recipe.

3.  When I do or say something funny, I will usually make someone repeat it back to me so that I can enjoy it, too.  Sometimes I need it immediately.  Other times I will forget what I’ve done, and when a friend says, “Remember when you said. . .?  That was so funny!” I say, “I don’t remember.  Say what I said.”  Now that I’ve typed this out I realize how strange it is.

4.  When dining out I always have to ask several questions of the waiter/waitress before I can decide what I want to eat.  What is the soup of the day?  Can I get the quesadilla without onions?  Can I have the chicken beside the rice instead of on the rice?  Better yet, can I get a baked potato instead of rice?  Can I order from the kids menu?  It can go on and on.  I usually embarrass everyone I’m with.  I just figure that if I’m spending $15 on a meal, it should be exactly what I want, right?

5.  I have the sweetest sweet tooth in the world.  I have an entire head full of sweet teeth.  I think this comes from being a cake maker’s daughter.  I remember the first time I heard someone take a bite of a dessert and say, “Oh, I can’t eat any more of that.  It’s too sweet.”  I thought, “Too sweet?  What is she talking about?  Finish your dessert, lady!”  I could eat cake and candy every day.  I love it.

6.  I hate having my picture taken.  This is really more than just a quirk.  It is an actual phobia.  When a camera comes out, I will immediately grab the camera and offer to be the photographer.  If that doesn’t work, I will just leave the premises until the danger has passed.  There are a few instances when having my picture taken could not be avoided, but trust me, I did not go quietly.  I just hate every picture I’ve seen of myself since 1993.

7.  I keep a running list of my favorite hot actors.  I lovingly refer to this list as “The Top Five.”  I started this list when I was in college at CSU, and somehow it just stuck with me.  Two charter members of The Top Five are still on the list:  Matthew McConaughey and Matt Damon.  The other three slots have changed over the years, but they are currently held by Hugh Jackman, Jake Gyllenhaal and Ryan Reynolds.  I’m sure these actors would be thrilled to know that they have made it to such an elite status.  This is what happens when you have no life and are single for too long.  Sigh.

These are just a few of my quirks.  Why are so many of them food-related?  Anyway, I would like to pass on this meme to Keeley because she is such a clever writer and to Hope because I think it’s time for the world to discover the level of quirkiness that I have observed in her.

In addition, I was recently tagged with an award from Chrissy, and today I would like to pass it on to Amy for being the friend with the newest blog:

nerdaward01_1.jpg 

I just knew you would appreciate this.

Thanks for reading, and have a great day!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Seven Quirks, One Award

  1. chrissy says:

    I’m the same way about biting down on an onion. I still cook with them, though, because I like the flavor, I just usually take them back out before I eat them.

  2. maddy says:

    you’re crazy and funny all at the same time; it is so cool. but i like onions but they smell so bad! however i do agree that matthew mc. is extremely cute.
    love ya
    maddy

  3. keeleystephens says:

    If anyone out there is doubting that every time she goes to a restaurant she insists on quizzing the waiter…trust me…she’s not joking! It’s not embarassing to me, just completely funny primarily because it embarasses Hope. Job well done Becky. PS-Becky, check out my blog. I listed mine. Let me know what you think.

  4. Amy says:

    Gee thanks Becky!

    FINALLY!!! Someone who is just as quirky (if not more) than I am. Thanks for sharing.

  5. chaotic joy says:

    Oh no fair! You had SEVEN and didn’t even post them all. I think that’s wonderful. It took me a solid month to come up with my 6 and they were lame. I love onions but I thought the thing about you having a whole mouth full of sweet teeth was very funny. It’s also just like me. Whenever someone says “Oh this dessert is too rich or sweet” I am always thinking “Well slide it over here!”

    And #3. Hilarious. That is a true quirk.

    Thanks so much for playing along.

  6. michele says:

    you left out the part about being somewhat predictable when ordering food- chicken in a strip or chicken in a fried steak, the occasional ham, mashed potatoes and gravy, mac and cheese. it’s okay, it pales in comparison to that whole puppet thing… this is me smiling…
    oh, and by the way. as of about 20 minutes ago. i have the newest blog. i would tell you how to get there, but i don’t know how! we’ll talk later.

  7. michele says:

    almost forgot… wouldn’t you agree that the older patrick dempsey gets, the better he looks?
    sorry about the puppet comment, jim henson made $$$ with it!

  8. Wendy says:

    Hi Becky! About # 5…my husband once told me that I don’t have a sweet tooth, I have a sweet upper palate.

    from Wendy (you know, Chrissy’s sister)

  9. Mom says:

    Becky, I didn’t put onions in everything. But I did make a lot of cakes because I had a bussiness selling decorated cakes. You and your sister would like to eat the liftover icing. So I guess I’m to blame for that.

  10. beckyray says:

    *GUILT*

  11. My absolute favorite QUIRK is #3. This isthe reason that our friendship has lasted like it has I think! I am the perfect person to hang out with b/c I love love love to be the repeater! it cracks me up like you previously had using the same comment or expession or posed baby parts on a headband.

  12. beckyray says:

    Rachel, no one is ever going to understand your comments but me, that’s for sure.

  13. maybe they won’t understand, but i’m sure that you at least smiled, chuckled or even laughed when *in a high pitched sing song voice* I mentioned baby parts!!!

Leave a Reply

