Book Review: “The Horse and His Boy” by C. S. Lewis

I’m in the process of rereading the Chronicles of Narnia.  It’s really like I’m reading them for the first time because I read them in elementary school and don’t really remember anything about them.  The only thing I remember is that I liked them, and that is still true.  I love reading anything that allows me to use my imagination.  I could say that I continue to read children’s books because I’m a children’s pastor and I want to stay on their level, but that wouldn’t be entirely true.  I read children’s books because I like them.  The thing that I found most interesting about “The Horse and his Boy” this time was the meanings behind the appearances of Aslan the Lion.  It is well-known that Aslan is the Christ-like character in these stories, and this gives great insight into the character of Christ.  In the story Aslan was a protector, guider, strengthener, and even a punisher.  Every time that Aslan interceded, there was a good reason for it.  Sometimes it was to personally aid a character in the story, sometimes it was to push all the action toward the ultimate goal, and sometimes it was to explain something that the characters did not understand.  But he did not always explain everything or even reveal himself right away.  Sometimes the other characters had to figure things out for themselves, or just trust that Aslan was doing the right thing.  What an amazing illustration for us.  If you have never read the Chronicles of Narnia, you should.  But don’t start with this one – I’m reading them in the chronological order of the story.  If you have read this book, tell me what you think.

This entry was posted in Book Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Book Review: “The Horse and His Boy” by C. S. Lewis

  1. chrissy says:

    Okay, I’m pretty sure you put that whole ‘read it in order’ part for me. I remember reading The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe when I was a kid, but I don’t think I ever finished the rest of them. Maybe I’ll try it.

  2. beckyray says:

    For those who want to know, the reading order is this:
    The Magician’s Nephew
    The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe
    The Horse and His Boy
    Prince Caspian
    The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
    The Silver Chair
    The Last Battle

  3. Stacie says:

    Chrissy, how did you never read them? I guess I used to make Wendy read them to me…or she made me listen. I’m not sure which way it really went.

  4. Catherine says:

    Ah, I LOVE these books. I first found them when I was about 6, and read them each year until I grew up. I was an au pair for a year, and read the entire series to my kids (age 9 and 6) in the course of a week because none of us could put them down. Now, I read them about once every five years and can’t wait to read them to my kid(s)…

    I prefer reading them in the order they were written though, which is:
    Lion, Witch, Wardrobe
    Prince Casp
    Dawn Tred
    Silver Chair
    Magician’s Nephew/Horse and his boy (I get these two reveresed)
    Last battle.

    Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s