I’m alive!

Last night a friend and I went to Every Tuesday, the young adult ministry at Seacoast.  It’s a little bit of a drive from Moncks Corner, but since there is not much going on here, I have to branch out.  We’ve been to this service a few times, but we’ve never spoken to anyone other than the brief meet-and-greet time.  As I have mentioned, I’m trying to get out there and experience new things, and part of that is meeting new people.  You see, I’m reading this book that challenges you to meet five new people a week that you have an engaging conversation with and that by the end of the conversation have a way to get in touch with you.  I’m not sure why, but I have gotten to the point where speaking to a stranger just for the sake of conversation is terrifying.  As the service came to a close, we just stood there hoping someone would speak to us.  The closest I came to speaking to someone was watching my friend do it.  I was so mad at myself!  Why can’t I just talk?  They had made an announcement that people would be going to Chili’s afterwards to hang out, so I convinced my friend that we had to go.  After a few false entrances, we made it in and introduced ourselves to some people.  Total strangers.  And I lived.  I played my one foolproof card – master’s degree in puppetry.  No one can resist talking about that.  By the end of the evening we had met several new people, and most of them had only been to Every Tuesday a few times themselves.  And most of them were boys.  That helps.  Stay tuned for more pathetic accomplishments from yours truly!

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m alive!

  1. No accomplishment is pathetic! I’m proud of you for taking that first step. As is true of faith, you have to practice something for it to become comfortable to you. We all fear the unknown, but once we experience what seemed so terrifying, and live, we find we can keep trying this thing until it gets comfortable, then enjoyable, and then it is a necessary part of our life.

    Blessings, Melissa

  2. chrissy says:

    I love that you did this, and it’s even better that you played the puppetry card. Everyone loves to act incredulous about that! Now if only you could meet a guy as passionate about Kermit as you are….

  3. chaotic joy says:

    Oh this is so NOT a pathetic accomplishment. It would seriously be hard for me to do this. I am very proud of you!

  4. Heather Martin says:

    I’m not sure that I’ve ever met a stranger in my life. Yep..I’m a talker. So to see someone admit openly to struggling with approaching people, only makes me feel better about the fact that God blessed me with the complete opposite…I can’t shut up. I’m hoping that you meet more people that can’t shut up, so that it helps you get through your fears! Great job! You’ve taken the 1st step…it does get easier!

  5. z. says:

    A degree in puppetry is such a fool-proof conversation card, truly. I sometimes dodge the question of what I do when I don’t feel like talking – but all that time up in Connecticut gave us a conversation starter of awesomeness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

