The Quaint Guest Room

Well, I consider it a success.  Here’s the results:

 spareroom3.jpg      spareroom5.jpg       

 spareroom4.jpg      spareroom6.jpg    

It could still use a few things, maybe some sort of window treatment.  Thanks to Amy, Amanda, Aunt Joanne and Uncle Craig for the donation and delivery of the beds and linens.  We won’t mention that now all the clutter that was in this room is now in the living room.  I’m going to try to take care of that this week.

By the way, I have a Filthy Update.  The smell and the horse flies are gone!  I think that it is finally over.  I had a friend over last night, and she confirmed that there was no odor.  Perhaps the creature’s ghost finally made its peace and crossed over, never to haunt me again.  If I believed in reincarnation, I would hope that this soul would return to play the part it was always meant to play as a Shakespearean actor and deliver these words:

“I am thy father’s spirit;
Doom’d for a certain term to walk the night,
And for the day confined to fast in fires,
Till the foul crimes done in my days of nature
Are burnt and purged away. But that I am forbid
To tell the secrets of my prison-house,
I could a tale unfold, whose lightest word
Would harrow up thy soul; freeze thy young blood;
Make thy two eyes, like stars, start from their spheres;
Thy knotted and combined locks to part,
And each particular hair to stand an end,
Like quills upon the fretful porpentine:
But this eternal blazon must not be
To ears of flesh and blood.–List, list, O, list!–
If thou didst ever thy dear father love,–
. . .Revenge his foul and most unnatural murder.”

                                                                                      – Ghost of Hamlet’s Father, Hamlet, Act I, scene v.

This entry was posted in Weekend Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Quaint Guest Room

  1. chrissy says:

    The rooms looks great! I still have my Charleston photos just like those, but I don’t have a great place to put them. One question: When I come visit, how will I ever be able to watch that TV in bed?

  2. beckyray says:

    Ha, ha! The TV is actually for me because I am really and truly going to start using that elliptical machine now, I swear!

  3. wow! all you neeeded was a little accountability. i think that i might get myself one of these blogs and knock out some tasks around here!!! that room is really looking compared to those earlier more sad photos.

  4. brownam64 says:

    Wow! That is amazing. Question though…all the stuff you took out of the room…where is it going to go? like the eliptical machine and well…there seemed to be a lot of things…Anyway, it looks great!

  5. sean rheaume says:

    Great use of Shakespeare!

  6. Tami says:

    Wow!! I am so proud of you! You did a great job…I just don’t want to see your den:(

Leave a Reply

