Only in the South

Last night I participated in an event that I now realize was probably one of the most unconventional church-sponsored events that I have ever attended.  (This realization was brought to me courtesy of my most unconventional friend – you know who you are.)  Before I give you the details about how it all went down, just know that my church does not yet have a functional facility of our own, so this circumstance added to the aforementioned oddity of the evening.  The main purpose of the event was to gather together to celebrate the commitments/re-commitments of about 40 people that wanted to be baptized to proclaim that Christ is now the center of their lives.  That part was awesome!  It always gives me goosebumps to know that God is alive and still moving in people’s hearts.  I’m guessing there were at least a couple hundred people there.  But let me help you with the visual: We were using a big inflatable pool that was set up outside the school that we use for our weekly services.  It looked like some sort of wacky, enormous, pot-bellied, ultra-blue container.  I’m guessing the water was about 3′ deep.  

Once everyone that wanted to was good and dunked, everyone started feasting.  Throw a burger on the grill, dip a chip, spoon out that mac and cheese and, for the strong-stomached, slurp down an oyster or two.  I personally exercised my mooching skills that I have perfected in my singleness.  In other words, I ate everyone else’s food, but I did not bring as much as a 2-liter of Coke.  Here’s what that looked like:

tailgatebaptism1.jpg       tailgatebaptism2.jpg

Essentially, we tailgated a baptism.

After we all ate more than we should (all in the name of fellowship, of course), we moved inside to watch an unnamed sporting event.  We watched and talked, then a few of us get a little bored and decided to play a game.  We played poker.  Yes, poker at a church event.  Some of you probably wouldn’t bat an eye, but I know there are still some that see the irony. 

 It was a very fun evening.  Now I think it’s safe to say that churches can come together in many different ways and for many different reasons.  But we will always eat. 

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Only in the South

  1. beckyray says:

    For more info on the poker game, click Keeley Stephens in my blogroll.

  2. chrissy says:

    The only thing missing from that tailgating party was a pig pickin’. Yee-haw.

  3. Stacie says:

    Mmm, pig-pickin’….

    I have come to the conclusion over the past several years that we (or at least I) led a very sheltered childhood at Central. Though I do remember catching Jordan Bell’s dad drinking beer with my best friend’s parents and the thoroughly guilty look on his face when I walked in. Now, I’ve been to a church staff Christmas party where someone brought moonshine. How things change!

    Anyways, “Hi!” from “oh that’s Chrissy’s little sister” ;-D

  4. chaotic joy says:

    Hey friend! You have a blog, and a WordPress Blog at that. You are way savvier than I! I have to admit I have stalked you some at your church blog but felt that random comments from a non church member might be seen as creepy. So hurray, for this place where I can be creepy to my hearts content.

    And I have to say, nothing says redneck like an inflatable pool baptism/tailgating party/poker game. That’s just plain classy right there. Heh. Heh.

    Welcome to the blogosphere!

  5. brownam64 says:

    Only in the corner! It was fun though! Poker, pools, and football…OH mY!

  6. z. says:

    I love that you took pictures, it really did happen! And btw – I took pictures of the spinach artichoke dip. It was the greatest.

Leave a Reply

